Emery came into the office of his supervisor hesitantly. The older man had told him not to roll his eyes at the governor during the press conference. He hadn’t said anything about showing the man up.

He was certain that Morrissey wouldn’t see things that way though. To judge by the governor’s reaction once the reporters had left them, the governor hadn’t appreciated it either. Emery cleared his throat when Morrissey didn’t acknowledge his presence right away.

“Good day, Emery. I expect that I don’t really need to talk to you about what you did today,” he said without looking up.

“I can’t stand it when he takes credit for my hard work,” Emery groused.

“I know, but public embarressment is not the way to deal with people like him,” Morrissey said, finally meeting Emery’s eyes. “Do you know what you need to do?”

“Write a letter of apology,” Emery replied, rolling his eyes.

“By the end of the day,” Morrissey stated.

“I’ll have Miles proofread it for me so it sounds appropriately… sincere,” Emery said softly. “I am sorry, not… for him. He’s a… well, I shouldn’t use those words. I’m sorry for causing you trouble. You’ve done me some good turns and I shouldn’t go making trouble for you.”

Morrissey smiled. “I’m not upset, Emery. You have every right to be frustrated with the governor’s stance on your brother and yourself. However… try to be a little more… politic?”

“Yes, sir,” Emery replied. He bowed and left the room to write his letter of apology. Morrissey had let him off easy, truthfully. He was well aware that some people would have put him on probation for such behavior. By the time he reached the office he shared with his brother, he had resolved to be more gentlemanly in the future.

