Jeremiah sometimes wondered about his new assistant. Occasionally the man seemed almost too good to be true. He was ready, willing and able to help in any way as the need arose. He had no difficulty managing even the most onerous tasks, if Jeremiah should require it.

“Why are you so good to me?” he asked one day. “I… You said that my brother hired you but… you go well above and beyond the call, Algernon.”

“I’m not working for a paycheck or stipend, Master Jeremiah. I’m working because I care for your well-being. Such care lets me perform that those working for mere wages would not,” he replied in his soothing voice.

Jeremiah blushed slightly at the intensity of the man’s gaze and nodded, accepting the words. Something told him the care the man had for him went far beyond what their positions should dictate.

