Emery looked at the photograph. He could swear it had changed. It was different from the last time he saw it. Unlike the painting in the case with the art gallery, the man in the photo hadn’t moved. This time the change seemed to be an age progression type of thing. The man seemed older since the last time they’d gone through the unsolved case files.

“Who’s this?” he asked Hassett softly.

“Ebenezer Jensen,” the warden replied. “He disappeared about ten years ago. It was kind of sad, since he was only your age.”

Emery blinked and shook his head. “Hassett, the man in this photo is not my age,” he said calmly. Maybe the files had gotten mixed up. “He looks more your age then mine.”

“Let me see that,” Hassett said sharply. Emery nodded and handed the file over, along with it’s included photograph. The older man frowned and shook his head. “This is him. It’s Jensen. I filed this photo. I know this is him. I was a rookie then, just out of school. He was… about my age at the time and it struck me as kind of… creepy.”

“This is the kind of thing that could seriously give me the heebie-jeebies,” Emery murmured. “Hassett… I think we just found Ebenezer Jensen.”

Hassett dropped the file as if it had burned him and bounded out of the room, calling to Morrissey. Emery sighed and looked down at the open file. He locked eyes with the man in the photo. He swore that the man could see him too. “Don’t worry,” he murmured. “We’ll find a way to get you out.”

