Chronicler Darius Mnemnos gazed at the tall blond fey for a long time as the man gathered his thoughts. “I’m supposed to tell you about things I’ve experienced in the wilds of Donara,” he said finally. “The thing is… I don’t really remember anything at all. The earliest thing I remember was Llar… Kassel, I mean, finding me and waking up from that pod. I don’t really remember how I got into the pod, not specifically.”

“Tell me what you do remember,” Darius said, pen poised above the paper.

“Rasig, a crow-fey and minor lord in Donara wanted me to work for him as a thief but… I refused. He was the kind of person who used people, then threw them away and I didn’t want a piece of that,” Almace began.

As usual Darius’s vision of the world around him faded away as he saw the past. Almace stood, glaring defiance at a dark haired fey. They were in a library of some sort. “I know what you do with people who aren’t of any more use to you, Rasig. Why would I want to work for you, even for one job. I have a partner, I don’t need to take up with the likes of you.”

The crow-fey twitched his wings in annoyance a sighed. His voice seemed calm, almost urbane, as he said, “I feared you’d see things that way. Believe me, Master Pinc, you would be much better served accepting my offer.”

Almace rolled his eyes and took a step back, obviously intending to leave. “Right, I’ll pass.” He made as if to leave and the crow-fey struck with almost blinding speed. Over the wind fey’s protests, Rasig dragged him down a corridor and out into a strange garden.

Darius recognized the plants, even if Almace did not. A part of him quailed back from the vision but he couldn’t help but follow it to the end. “What… what is this place? What are those things?” Almace asked as Rasig released him. There was nowhere he could go now.

“Memory plants,” Rasig replied coolly. “Are you feeling tired?”

Almace staggered as his eyes drifted shut. He forced them open as vines snaked out to pull him toward one of the pods that hung, open, from the main body of the plant. “I… think I’ve changed my mind,” he murmured. “Rasig… I’ll work for you, please. Get this thing off. Let me go.”

Rasig smiled and stepped back away as the vines drew Almace deeper into the pod. “You will work for me. I’ll let you out when the pod has taken enough of your memories that you don’t know who I am. You’ll still have the skills that I’ll want but… you’ll be more biddable toward your… savior.”

“No,” Almace murmured. He was getting so drowsy now. “No please. Lord Rasig, please.” Then the pod closed over his face and darkness swept in.

Darius came back to himself with a start and shuddered at the crow-fey’s plan. He looked down at the paper he held. All the information was written there. Almace may never remember all the particulars of that day, but at least he’d be able to read about what had happened. “Rasig was… pretty scary,” he said.

Almace nodded once and murmured, “That much I do remember.”

