The notion seemed a little bit cynical but, all the same whenever people challenged Emery about his faith and belief in God, it was his reply. As always, he smiled gently and said, “What do I lose by my belief in a loving and caring God and an afterlife? Is my belief in God hindering me any? No, I think not. It helps me keep hoping when things aren’t going well and when things are going well,” he trailed off and shrugged as he finished, “I don’t think that’s because I’m just so good. So it keeps me grounded.”

He rocked on his heels and added, “Besides, if my belief is wrong… and you’re right, I won’t know. However, if your belief is wrong, and I’m right… you go to hell.”

Emery chuckled and dashed to his office, leaving the warden staring open-mouthed behind him. “Franklin,” Sergeant Grant said softly. “Did… that boy just tell me to go to hell?”

“I think he said that you would, sir,” Corporal Franklin replied softly. He bit his tongue to keep from sniggering. It wouldn’t do to bring the sometimes-prickly warden’s ire down on him. He could hear his superior breathing deeply though his nose, obviously trying, without much success, to calm himself. Prudently, he chose that moment to withdraw, leaving the sergeant in the corridor alone with his anger.

