Margery lay back in her bed. Over the past few weeks she’d felt weaker and weaker. It had gotten to the point that she could no longer get out of bed. All of her joints ached and her head felt full of fluff.

“How are you feeling?” a familiar voice said.

She looked up to see her husband standing over her. “Tired,” she replied. “Where have you been?”

“You remember those people I told you about?” he said softly. “They were spotted in the village. I… couldn’t risk them finding the boys.”

“I’m glad to see you safe,” she said, taking his hand. “I’ve missed you.”

“I’ve missed you,” he whispered. He looked down. “Maggie… this illness you have… it’s your aura, falling apart. There’s… not really anything they can do about it, is there?”

“No, darling,” she said. “I’m glad that I got to see you though. Send for the boys. They should be here.”

“I’ll do that,” Nathaniel promised. “Can you hold on until then?”

“Yes,” she said softly. “Tell Emery to see a doctor about his aura. We don’t want it to get to the point that mine did before he finds out.”

“I’ll see to it,” he said. “I… I love you.”

“And I love you,” she murmured. He kissed her gently and then left. Margery closed her eyes. She may be suffering, but at least she got to see Nathaniel one more time.