Miles looked over his class records and sighed. He had finished all the courses that his brother had. They had been neck and neck all through school. If one wasn’t top of the class, the other was. The only reason that they’d refrained from any intense competition was because they hadn’t been in the same sections.

Now, in less than a month, Emery would be graduating from the Academy while he would be remaining on campus to take “continuing education” courses. He felt like his life was spinning out of control as the professors and administrators at the school took over his training plan.

“I hate this,” he muttered. “It isn’t fair that they won’t let me graduate when I’ve completed all the same coursework as everyone else in the graduating class. It isn’t fair that they’re putting everything I’ve done over the past four years under a microscope. It isn’t fair that I have to stay here and you get to go.”

“Feel better getting that off your chest?” Emery said softly.

“Not too much,” Miles replied.

Emery settled back against his chair and rolled his eyes. “I’ll see what I can do. Maybe I can convince the person who hires me to do something about it.”

“I hate it when other people are in control of what’s going on with my life,” Miles groused.

