Miles felt his breath catch in his throat when he saw her. It had been years, since they were in school. Still he hadn’t forgotten her. They’d gotten acquainted after his brother had found her, lost in the forest.

“Hannah?” he greeted softly as she stepped into the lab.

“Miles,” came the shocked reply. “I… had no idea you worked here.”

He smiled wanly and shook his head. “Hannah, you saw my brother; you knew I worked here.”

She looked down and smiled. “It’s good to see you again, Miles. You look good.”

He caught her hands as she reached up to set them on his shoulders, ready for an intimate kiss. “No,” he said, his voice steady. “Hannah, I’ve moved on and if you can’t then I’ll make sure that Morrissey knows about our past together. It can’t go back to what it was. It hurt too much the first time… the second time too. There will be no third time.”

“Miles,” she started. “I do like you. The past –”

“Happened,” he interrupted. “It’s still the past. It can never be the future, Hannah. I have a case to work on.” He took a step back away from her and left the room.

