“We might have to get the governor to confess to the crime,” Morrissey said. “If this happened twenty years ago, then most of the evidence will be gone by now – aside from the body.”

“Which we can’t get to until we have a reasonable suspicion,” Emery said softly. “Beg pardon, Mister Sacks, you may be certain that the governor killed your sister. I may know beyond any doubt because I saw it in my vision, but neither of us can testify to the facts.”

“Then how can we catch him?” Jeffrey said. He spun away and shook his head. “I wish she’d never met him.”

“It may be there was a witness, one that is still around and may be able to testify to what he saw,” Emery said softly.

“May be a witness?” Jeffrey said, turning back to the teen. “What do you mean may be.”

“I know there was a witness, I saw my vision through his eyes,” Emery said. “I just don’t know if he’s alive to testify; and if he’s alive, the courts may not give him a chance.”

“Stop it with the innuendo, Emery,” Morrissey snapped. “Out with it.”

“She had a son,” Emery said. “He saw her killed. He’d be able to say that… if he’s alive and if the courts permit his testimony.”

“Why wouldn’t they?” Morrissey said softly.

“We aren’t human, Mr. Morrissey,” Jeffrey said softly. “I take it you saw that in your vision, too.”

Emery nodded. “You keep an eye on the governor. I’ll see if I can find anything on the boy,” he added. “Maybe I can find him. Maybe he’s alive.”

“I don’t like all those maybe’s, Em,” Morrissey replied. “Be careful.” With a short nod, Emery was out the door.

