October 3, 2015

Gratitude can transform common days into thanksgiving, turn routine jobs into joy, and change ordinary opportunities into blessings – William Arthur Ward

I found this quote and it spoke to me.  Almost a year ago, I changed jobs from a sales associate at Sam’s Club to an office assistant for the State of New York.  I was so thankful for the opportunity to work a better job, earn better wages and have etter benefits that everything… every task i was assigned was interesting and fun.

I remember the same thing happened when I first started at Sam’s Club.  I loved my job and enjoyed it much of the time.  It was stressful but I was just so grateful to be employed… to be earning a wage and not subsisting on the government’s programs or my parents’ tab.  I was once again an independent woman and it felt great.  I had people asking me if I enjoyed my job while I was at Sam’s Club and I always said, “yes, of course.”  Did I want to be making pizza for the rest of my days?  No, of course not but it was better than not having any job at all – just like the job I have now is better still.

I look back in my life and I know how blessed I am because of each and every opportunity that I’ve had.

